La Liga Goes To Atletico Madrid After Drama On Final Day

la liga

Atletico Madrid is the champions of this season’s La Liga. The team’s last league title came in 2014. They manage to overturn a losing start in the final match of the season against Real Valladolid. The 2-1 victory ensured the title over Real Madrid, their city rivals.

La Liga Came Down To The Wire

In the starting half of the match, Real Valladolid had managed to go in front of Atletico. However, Luis Suarez and Angel Correa became the heroes of the day after reversing the score. Real Madrid had also recorded a similar 2-1 match at Villarreal. But it was of no use because of Atletico’s win.

The result meant that the team managed by Diego Simeone ended the season with 86 points. Real Madrid ended with 84 points, two points behind. Barcelona came in third, with 79 points, trailing by seven points.

This was the eleventh La Liga title for Atletico Madrid. They have become the Spanish Champions merely three times in the span of the previous four decades. The other two titles had come in 2014 and in 1996. Of the three, two have come under the management of Simeone. He has also led the team to one Copa del Rey and one Supercopa Espana. He is in charge of the club for ten years now. He also has led the team to 2 Europa Leagues as well as 2 Super Cups from UEFA.

The final standings were in accordance with how the majority of the season had played out. Atletico had been on top of the table since 5th December. On that day, they had also won 2-0 against Valladolid to claim the number one spot.

Luis Suarez had been an integral part of their success in the early season. He has found the net 16 times in the first 17 appearances.   

Previous articleCaitlyn Jenner Is Not Wanted By The Transgender Community
Next articleAnthony Bouchard, The Wyoming Senator, Reveals His Dark Past