NASA Announces Astronauts to Fly on SpaceX Crew-2 Mission to Space Station

NASA has revealed the names of the four people who will be a part of Crew -2, the second operational flight of Crew Dragon to the International Space Station. This mission will follow NASA’s SpaceX Crew-1 mission, which is targeted to launch late September.

NASA astronauts Megan McArthur and Shane Kimbrough will join JAXA’s Akihiko Hoshide and ESA’s Thomas Pesquet as pilot and spacecraft commander respectively, on the flight which is set to launch in 2021 Spring.

The astronauts will remain on the space station for about 6 months and will be sharing the platform with three astronauts who will be using a Russian Soyuz to make the trip.

Hence seven crew members will be sharing the station instead of the previous six which will allow NASA to “effectively double the amount of science that can be conducted in space.”

This will be Kimboroughs third trip to space while it will be the second trip for Mac Arthur and her first trip to the International Space Station.