Senator Bill Cassidy Claims That Donald Trump Will Not Win The Election Again

Bill Cassidy
Bill Cassidy

Bill Cassidy, a Republican US senator, said on Sunday that Donald Trump will lose the 2024 presidential election if his party proposes he runs once more, citing the underwhelming results of his favored candidates in the midterm elections of the previous year.

Cassidy emphasized that the comments also served as a means of discrediting “formidable” GOP rivals like South Carolina Senator Tim Scott, who on Friday officially announced his candidacy. Cassidy stated, “You just have to take this as a competitor trying to dis others.” DeSantis has not yet declared his candidacy, but the Republican governor is anticipated to do so this week.

Bill Cassidy Has Made A Bold Claim

In the burgeoning GOP field, Trump is presently in the lead. Cassidy noted that Trump-backed candidates scored poorly in the midterm elections in the previous year, particularly in key states like Georgia, Pennsylvania, Nevada, and Arizona, and that this makes his victory anything from assured.

On Sunday, Bill Cassidy argued that DeSantis’s remarks were “a nice way” for the governor to disparage another “pretty formidable candidate”: US senator Tim Scott of the Republican Party. Prior to his official campaign kickoff on Monday, Scott of South Carolina, the sole African-American Black Republican sitting in the Senate, filed the necessary papers on Friday.

According to Bill Cassidy, who Louisiana was initially elected to the Senate in 2014, “You just have to recognize this as an opponent trying to diss others,”

Cassidy went on to say that DeSantis had a point when he claimed that Trump would be quite easy to defeat in a rematch with Biden. Trump lost to Biden in the 2020 reelection. Cassidy made reference to how, during the 2014 midterm elections, Trump endorsed Herschel Walker, Mehmet Oz, Adam Laxalt, and Blake Masters for Senate seats in Georgia, Pennsylvania, Nevada, and Arizona, respectively. John Fetterman, Raphael Warnock, Catherine Cortez Masto, and Mark Kelly, respectively, defeated them.