A Historic First At Coca-Cola 600 With Kyle Larson Win

Coca-Cola 600
Coca-Cola 600

Kyle Larson has taken Hendrick Motorsports to the top in NASCAR history with the most cup Series wins ever. His triumph in the Coca-Cola 600 finally breaks a tie at the top with Petty Enterprises and delivers Rick Hendrick his 269th NASCAR Cup Series win.

Larson completely dominated the Coca-Cola 600 as he led in 328 of the 400 laps. Four of the Hendrick cars finished in the top five. The others were Elliott at number two, William in the fourth spot, while Alex Bowman came in at fifth. Only Kyle Busch could break up the Hendrick group, coming in third for Joe Gibbs Racing.

The wins for Hendrick began way back on April 29, 1984, with Geoff Bodine winning at Martinsville Speedway in the Sovran Bank 500.

A 37 Year Wait For Hendrick Ends At Coca-Cola 600

It took 37 years at the Coca-Cola 600 for Hendricks to emerge as the team with the most wins with a record 269 wins. They pass Petty Enterprises.

It was an ‘unbelievable’ moment for Larson. Jim France, Chairman, and CEO of NASCAR said that Hendrick Motorsports was the standard for excellence in race teams with an excellent 40 years at the top.

Hall Of Famer Rick Hendrick Remembers His Rival In His Moment Of Triumph

Rick Hendrick was all praise for his rival Richard Petty and his contribution to NASCAR. He had done a lot for the sport, he said.

Hendrick said it was ‘pretty neat’ that Larson finally broke the race record at Coca-Cola 600 driving car No. 5. It was the number of Bodine’s car at the first win in 1984.

Hendrick has won 6 out of 16 races this season. And the last was a comfortable win. It was also Larson’s first win at Charlotte. Previously, he had just a single Coca-Cola 600 top-10 finish. Hendrick was all praise for his talent and dedication.

Multiple drivers have their own in this season with 11 drivers winning the 14 races. Kyle Larson is just the third this season with multiple victories.

The end of restrictions led to a surge of fans, with 50,000 attending the race, attended by Tyson Fury, twice heavyweight boxing champion and rapper Pitbull.