Max Verstappen’s F1 British Grand Prix Victory

British Grand Prix
Grand Prix

Dutch-Belgian professional racing driver Max Verstappen has claimed victory at the 2023 F1 British Grand Prix. Verstappen, who races for Red Bull Racing, won as the first racer to cross the victory line on July 9. The 2023 British Grand Prix was held at Silverstone Circuit in Northamptonshire, United Kingdom. Silverstone Circuit hosted the first British Grand Prix in 1948. 25-year-old Verstappen finished first at timing 1:25:16.938 precisely. 

This win marks Verstappen’s second victory at the Silverstone Circuit and his sixth overall win in this racing season. In second place in the F1 British GP, it was Lando Norris for McLaren. While Lewis Hamilton for Mercedes-Benz finished third. Norris and Hamilton became the first British racers to make it to the Silverstone podium in their home country since 1999 when British racer David Coulthard won the British GP.

British Grand Prix A Brief History

Though the British Grand Prix has been held annually since 1948 at the Silverstone Circuit, the first ever British Grand Prix was organized in 1926. The 1926 Grand Prix was then called the Grand Prix of the Royal Automobile Club and was held in the concrete oval at Brooklands.

This Grand Prix was won by Louis Wagner and Robert Sénéchal in a Delage 15 S 8. In 1948, the British GP was initiated as an annual event, however, the circuit at Brooklands was damaged in the Second World War, thus the Silverstone Circuit became the choice for this international automobile racing event. Italian racer Luigi Villoresi won the 1948 British GP in a Maserati. Other than Silverstone, the Aintree Circuit near Liverpool and the Brands Hatch Circuit in Kent, too have hosted the British GP. Since 1987, Silverstone Circuit has evolved into a modern state-of-the-art racing circuit in the United Kingdom.