IPL Witnesses A New Champion In Gujarat Titans


IPL is one of the biggest cricketing spectacles in the world. The Indian Premier League is one of the largest cricketing tournaments played in the world. Prominent Players from all around the world take part in the tournament. Every team tries their level best to win the coveted trophy. This year was no different as well. The tournament was played between ten teams for almost a couple of months.

Out of all the teams, Gujarat Titans and Rajasthan Royals faced off in the finals. It was a low-scoring final as Rajasthan Royals won the toss and elected to bat first. The Gujarat bowlers bowled well to restrict the batsmen. One of the biggest fears for the Gujarat Titans was Jos Butler. The Englishmen were in red hot form throughout the tournament. Butler was fresh from a century against the Royal Challenger Bangalore in the second qualifier.

All these fears were put to rest by the Titans bowlers. One of the most exceptional performances came from the Gujarat skipper, Hardik Pandya. He bowled brilliantly and ended with figures of 3-17 in four overs. Rajasthan Royals could only post a mere 130-9 after their allotted twenty overs. However, such a small total was never going to be enough in an IPL final. Let us learn more about the game in detail below. 

IPL Final Lit Up By Gujarat Titans 

Gujarat Titans played brilliantly in the IPL finals and clinched their maiden IPL trophy.  The Titans had a shaky start losing Wriddhiman Saha cheaply. However, Shubhman Gill and David Miller steadied the ship and guided their team to victory. 

Shubhman Gill hit the winning runs as he slammed Obed McCoy for a huge six. Gujarat Titans reached the target with seven wickets to spare in 18.1 overs. The final was played in front of a packed crowd of 100,000 at the Narendra Modi International Stadium.