Liverpool Wins Carabao Cup On Penalties: First Trophy Of English Season


It took 12 penalties before the Carabao Cup winner was finally declared in favor of Liverpool, after 120 plus minutes of the brilliant, edge-of-the-seat final. Chelsea contributed a lot to a gripping final. But bringing a keeper on for a penalty shoot-out proved the blues’ undoing.

It was a game worthy of any final as the two teams dished out 120 minutes of sheer brilliance that saw the ball ending up in the net four times only for it to be disallowed for offside.

The teams stayed in the game thanks to the heroics of Caoimhin Kelleher and Edouard Mendy. But the replacement of Mendy, despite his heroics, by Chelsea just before extra time in the Carabao Cup backfired. Chelsea’s dreams ended when substitute keeper Kepa Arrizabalaga blasted over the goalpost to hand the trophy to the Reds.

Liverpool’s Victory Came Down To The GKs

Liverpool’s players and supporters were furious after Joel Matip’s goal against Chelsea were ruled out in the final of the Carabao Cup. The Reds appeared to have gone into the lead when Matip headed home from close range from Trent Alexander-Arnold’s free-kick into the box. Sadio Mane headed the ball back for Matip to head home.

But a VAR was indicated on the screen and the goal was disallowed. It appears Van Dijk was pulled up for fouling Reece James while in an offside position. That indicated he had interfered with the game before Matip got to the ball as James was in a position to block Mane.

Chelsea too had a goal disallowed as Kai Havertz was ruled offside. With the Carabao Cup in their kitty, Liverpool will look to secure the other three trophies where they have a fighting chance, the FA Cup, the English Premier League, and the Champions League. Manchester United in 1999, Liverpool in 2001, and City in 2019 managed three, but none has come close to winning the quadruple.