Breanna Stewart Is The MVP Of The WNBA

Breanna Stewart

In July, when the All-Star match of the WNBA played out, the match just made the case even stronger for three specific players in particular to be the MVP. Since the match, analysts have mentioned them multiple times. They are A’ja Wilson of the Las Vegas Aces, Alyssa Thomas of the Connecticut Suns, and Breanna Stewart of the New York Liberty.

Breanna Stewart Won A Very Close Race

Each of them was equally as deserving as the other, and whoever won would upset at least two other fan bases. On September 26th, Breanna Stewart received the MVP award for the second time in her career. She scored 446 points. Thomas received 439 points while Wilson scored 433 points in the vote by national media.

If Wilson had won, she would become a 3-time MVP which has been achieved by only 3 players before her. She would also have won the award consecutively – a feat achieved by only one player before her. If Thomas had become the MVP, she would be the second player in the history of the Sun franchise to be so. However, Breanna Stewart was the victor even though she was not the candidate who received the most first-place votes. This is the second time this happened.

Stewart scored 20 first-place votes. Wilson had 17, while Thomas had 23. In 2005, Sheryl Swoopes was the first MVP to do so while receiving 16 votes as first place compared to the 20 votes that Lauren Jackson, the runner-up had received. The WNBA MVP, similar to other seasonal honors, is awarded before the beginning of the playoffs. September 10th was the deadline for votes to be sent to the office of the league, which was the regular season’s final day. So, the games held in the postseason had no impact on the voting.