Sevilla Wins 7th Europa League Title

Sevilla FC

Sevilla FC has won its seventh Europa League title after defeating Associazione Sportiva Roma in the Europa League Final in Budapest’s Puskas Arena. Sevilla scored 4-1 in the match, while previously the score stood at 1-1. It was the exciting penalty shoot that made Sevilla the winner. 

Jose Mourinho, manager of Roma, however, received much harsh criticism from the specialists of the Europa League as this became the first defeat for Roma, who previously won five times. Defending his team after its loss, Jose spoke on Sky Italy stating that he has to fight for his team. He also said that he lost this game, however, he will return back home with more pride than before.

While Sevilla has gained much support for their victory with players Erik Lamela, Lucas Ocampos, Gonzalo Montiel and Ivan Rakitic scoring one goal each in the penalty shoots. Roma suffered a series of unfortunate moves that has cost them the finals. Roma’s Gianluca Mancini’s missed spot kick and own goal which affected negatively Paulo Dybala has earned him much criticism from Roma fans, many of whom have posted their angry reactions on social media against Mancini.

Gonzalo Montiel Sevilla’s Penalty Star

Sevilla’s player Gonzalo Montiel became the star penalty shooter, as his goal became a decisive occurrence that won his team the Europa League title. Montiel had previously scored such a vital goal in the FIFA World Cup final in 2022 winning his team Argentina against France.

Roma’s Jose Mourinho, meanwhile, slammed the referee Anthony Taylor and confronted him after Roma’s defeat. In a viral video on social media, Mourinho can be seen arguing with Taylor in a parking lot. Mourinho could be seen calling Taylor a disgrace for his actions against Roma during the finals.